Meet The Newbies – New SAVA Members

Hi Res NarrowDuring the month of February, the SAVA held it’s first new members selection for 2014 and added 4 new members to its number. We decided it was time to post their introductions.

Arabella Nox-Moirae:

“Arabella is a name I chose simply looking for a derivative of my dayside name which was unique on its own. (Knowing how important it is to have a dayside and night side profile learnt the hard way) The meaning of Arabella is varied.

(Nox & Moirae however holds a deeper meaning for me)

Nyx (Ancient Greek: Νύξ, “night”) – Nox in Latin translation – is the Greek goddess (or personification) of the night. A shadowy figure, Nyx stood at or near the beginning of creation, and was the mother of other personified deities such as Hypnos (Sleep) and Thánatos (Death). Her appearances are sparse in surviving mythology, but reveal her as a figure of exceptional power and beauty. She is found in the shadows of the world and only ever seen in glimpses.

The Fates, or Moirae, were the goddesses who controlled the destiny of everyone from the time they were born to the time they died. They were: Clotho, the spinner, who spun the thread of a person’s life, Lachesis, the apportioner, who decided how much time was to be allowed each person, and Atropos, the inevitable, who cut the thread when you were supposed to die.

I came across the FOSAV website by pure chance (It was at this cross road in my life), for days and nights I was searching for something – anything, that I could say why I felt the way I did, I devoured every thing I could on the page and the more I read the more I realized I was not crazy or delusional, I had found a place to call home. I live in the Gacrux Halo.

I found the community intimidating at first simply because I feared I would not fit in and my lack of knowledge. But I was soon guided and helped to identify what kind of vampire I am and the more I was taught the more things fell into place for me. A lot can be said for the kindness and compassion of those who helped me in every way, something I will never be able to thank enough. This has become my home and I hope to help it in anyway I can to thrive.

I identify as Psi and a Sanguine vampire (hybrid). (after a lot of help and reading!!!)

My views on vampi(y)rism – its not an affliction, a virus or a lifestyle choice for me. This is as real as my DNA, it’s who I am; it can’t be learnt or changed into. No spell or amount of wishing will “turn” you into one. This is for me a piece to my personal puzzle that came complete when I found FOSAV.

What I see the community as now – the community now is a place where we have come together in our diversity and uniqueness, it is a home a haven. With a wealthy abundance of knowledge that is freely shared and it is a community that really cares for each other. This is a family for me in every sense of the meaning.

What I would like the community to be – I am a bit of a dreamer – but I envision for the community one day having a haven in each Halo where gatherings and learning can take place. To take all the community stands for and put it into to practice. Communication and commitment is in my opinion the most important. Change cannot happen without it. We have something that can eventually make other houses across the world stand up and take us seriously and with respect. But it takes willingness to make it succeed. We are proud of who we are, we found each other because we were searching for our identities, that is nothing to be sneezed at or simply fobbed off as unimportant, but something to be celebrated and empowered.

(Although saying that I also need to step up and take part in improving my community.)

“Change will not come if we wait for some other person, or if we wait for some other time. We are the ones we’ve been waiting for. We are the change that we seek.” ― Barack Obama.

Here’s to the crazy ones. The misfits. The rebels. The troublemakers. The round pegs in the square holes. The ones who see things differently. They’re not fond of rules. And they have no respect for the status quo. You can quote them, disagree with them, glorify or vilify them. About the only thing you can’t do is ignore them. Because they change things. They push the human race forward. And while some may see them as the crazy ones, we see genius. Because the people who are crazy enough to think they can change the world, are the ones who do.”

My personal views on ethics – The Black Veil, Totum Lex Vampyrica and the Wiccan Rede. Ethics is a code in which we conduct out lives and it’s necessary.”

Dagan Nightalon:

“First and foremost, I am a Witch. I have been following the Correllian Nativist Tradition for a few years, but have also been interested in the physical aspect of Circle Casting pertaining to other Traditions. I am a Psi~Vamp, prefer one on one feeding to any of the other tried and tested methods. I am also Therian by nature, and have a close bond with my Totem Wolf Guide.  Interested in all forms of Occultism, Mythology and the like. Proud to be one of the founding members of Vamp Coven d’Eir. Very Happy

I’m usually the one making silly remarks (or memes) :p I prefer the company of people who laugh at life’s little complexities, but consider myself a great listener when its required.  Always willing to help, always willing to give advice, or just cheer someone up.  Have always found ancient texts fascinating, and gathering information on translation and deciphering is a little hobby of mine.

Have a bit of a musical background, something which I would like to pursue in the near future….

Glad to be in SAVA! and looking forward to meeting and getting to know everyone a little better.”

Octavius Drake:

“I’m a young man living in JHB, South Africa and spend most of my time trying to build a software development business.I like to think I’m pretty easy-going and fun to be around, but like everyone, I have a dark side that maybe isn’t so pleasant to others. For a long time I’ve struggled with what most would call mood swings, but for the most part, I take great pride in maintaining control of my emotions.

After a lot of conversation and discussion about these “mood swings” with Octarine Valur and Kay Valkir Noctem, I came to realize that I’m a psi vampyre and though I haven’t contributed very much to the SA Vampyre Community yet, I’ve been a Friend for several months.

I take as much time as I can spare to learn about myself and what being a vampyre means to me as well as general things that I think many newly awakened vampyres need to consider like how to feed without hurting anyone unintentionally. I’m very much a “do no harm” type of person so I figure ethically, this is probably the best way to do things.

Personal view on vampi(y)rism: Many people I know – in fact everyone I know outside of this community would say that vampi(y)rism is rubbish or “its all in your head”, but the more I think of it, the more I realize its actually a real thing. Looking back at my life I realize that I’ve always been “testy” when my energy gets low. I don’t know if anyone can become a vampi(y)re, but I know that I was born one.

What I see the community as now: I’ve never felt more that I was part of something than I do as a member of the vampi(y)re community. I guess one could say its like a home and family to me because I feel like I’ll always be welcome.

What I’d like the community to be: Whatever happens in the future and however the community develops, I hope that above everything else, that one thing will always be as it is now.

Personal view on ethics: I take as much time as I can spare to learn about myself and what being a vampyre means to me as well as general things that I think many newly awakened vampyres need to consider like how to feed without hurting anyone unintentionally. I’m very much a “do no harm” type of person so I figure ethically, this is probably the best way to do things.

I hope to continue to learn and grow in this community and to keep on making new friends as a member of SAVA.”

Tiny Spencer:

“I think I’m the youngest member of SAVA at the moment, I’m a generally chilled calm guy.

I hope I can help out in the VC and contribute wherever I’m able. Grateful to be accepted into the SAVA ranks and will try to do my best to build the VC and assist where needed.”

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

Leave a Reply

