A Lesson From Lestat – by Cian Ashling

Picture1

 Many in the VC may think that there is very little to be learnt from Literary Vampires. Surely the romanticised and far-fetched living dead have very little, if nothing, in common with the very real Vampyre of today. And yet, having spent some time in reflection away from the world, I have come to understand that this Vampyre has garnered some interesting pearls of wisdom from books.

It must be understood that by my very nature I seek isolation in most situations, preferring to watch and live vicariously than to dive in and indulge. For me books have always been a safe place for me to explore and live. It has only been fairly recently, however, that I have come to realise the wisdom that can be found within those fictional pages.

I am struck by an idea that is held across the pages of the Vampire Chronicles, written by Anne Rice. Mainly, that we do not differ much from the basic human nature we have. Of course the novels explore how the living undead become so much more what they were as time progresses. Thus the stoic will eventually lapse into silent indifference, and the drama queen will eventually erupt into sparks dramatically at her own hands. How then could I superimpose this idea to some very not-undead Vampyres?

To be honest, I took a deep look at myself. Who have I been since my earliest introspection until now? The discovery was illuminating. I began to realise that from that first emergence of my consciousness, until today, my psyche was becoming more what it is. Like neural pathways, aspects of my personality not aligned to my inner being seemed to fade away with time.

Thus I have been honed, from a slightly shy young girl who felt a little different, to a young woman who in her very reticent personality prefers isolation and deep thought to try analyse life. I know I have always thought too much and as I age this seems to become more and more prominent.

I believe that this is true for perhaps not only the Vampyres, but for all salient beings. I pose then, that we should not blindly look past literature and film as mindless entertainment, yet rather seek to discover within it something that we can use to further ourselves as individuals and even as a community as a whole. This is only one example, but I feel there are quite a few more lessons to be had from Lestat.

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

One response to “A Lesson From Lestat – by Cian Ashling

Leave a Reply

