A Christian Vampyre Speaks Out

Hunting kit“I can already imagine the jaw-dropping reaction displayed by most Christian South Africans just for merely mentioning those two words in the same sentence. Well… pick up your jaws; I am Lunah Eir and I’m a Christian Vampyre. (You guys are doing it again, aren’t you?)”

[Please note that all views and opinions expressed in this article are solely my own views and opinions and do not reflect on the Vampyre Community or Christianity (or any other religion mentioned) as a whole.]

Vampyrism & Christianity.

I can already imagine the jaw-dropping reaction displayed by most Christian South Africans just for merely mentioning those two words in the same sentence. Well… pick up your jaws; I am Lunah Eir and I’m a Christian Vampyre. (You guys are doing it again, aren’t you?)

As a child, I was raised in a very Christian home. My mother took us to church, we attended Sunday schools and youth groups. We were taught the Lords prayer right along with the National Anthem.

Now as an adult, I will admit I don’t see the inside of a church at all, however, I still believe in God, I kneel and pray at night with my 4 year old daughter, listen to her gospel songs that she’s learnt at school and feel very proud, I thank God for every one of my blessings and I ask him for help when things get to hard to handle on my own.

Being a Vampyre doesn’t affect this at all. So many people have the wrong idea of what Vampyrism is all about and they’re all so caught up in labeling each other via religion that they miss the important parts, what its all about.

Personally, I don’t see religion when I look at people, not with my Vampyre Kin and not with the people in my everyday life.  I have friends that are  Christian, Satanic, Pagan, Hindu, and agnostic. It doesn’t mean that because I’m Christian and *Harry identifies as a Satanist that we can’t be friends, converse or enjoy each other’s company. No! It just means that we are different! And that’s the beauty of it all! We were born to be different!

Unfortunately, not all of society sees things this way, and we are grouped and classed by who we pray to (or if we pray at all) and not for who we are as people. Some are labeled as dangerous, others as extremists, insane or evil.

I hate to admit it, but from what I’ve seen in my life, many Christian followers are among these “labelers”.

We’re taught to love our neighbors and treat them as we would like to be treated, we’re taught not to judge, to spread the word of God and teach others but not to force it on people or to attack them because they choose to follow their own  path.

Even though living like this is what we should pride ourselves on, we don’t adhere to any of it. Making us the biggest hypocrites of all.

It’s not an easy world we live in. It would be a lot easier though, if we could just respect each other and embrace one another’s differences.

I’d like to leave you with a thought. Something someone told me a while ago whilst discussing the violence in our country… They said “Guns are not dangerous, it’s people that make guns dangerous.” Isn’t it the same with religion?

*example

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

2 responses to “A Christian Vampyre Speaks Out

  • Serenity

    I am Christian and a vampire as well. It was really nice to read a post about about someone who is also of the same faith. I believe the same as she does. We all come from all walks of life, all religions, all faiths, and though some don’t practice a religion, we are all taught to love one another. I think she said that really well. Excellent post!

  • D, ,

    It is very simple i swear ive been saying this for like 20 years . Religion is a choice, Vampirism is not it is like being black or white Nothing changes it
    D, ,

Leave a Reply

