Being The Newbie: Lights, Camera, Action! With Lunah Eire

IMG_20130429_0022458A pretty lady in a pretty dress stands on a balcony, wind blows the hair from her neck, and down swoops a vampire and bites her… Ya.

This was all I knew about Vampyres before I came across an article written by Octarine Valur. What a piece. Not just because it had been well written but because it felt almost familiar. I felt such a pull to all that was being written about that I just had to find out more and more.

At first I thought it was because of the incredible need I felt to be a donor and that’s what I set out to do. Val kindly took me under her wing, answered all the millions of questions I had and gave me more reading material than my literature teacher in high school did (hehe thanks Val)!

Before I knew it, I was submerged in a new world that I strangely felt more at peace with than the one I had come from. I joined the groups and made the most amazing friends.

…. And then I awakened….

 Much to my surprise, as I’m sure you can imagine, but luckily I had Samael, Val and Psion at my side to help me through it. There were “WHAT THE CHOCOLATE CHEESECAKE?!”moments, “ERM….” moments, those wide eyed “SAY AGAIN?!” moments and the “Oooooh I should never have stopped the anti-demon pills” moments… But ended everyday with a smile and with a better knowledge and understanding of who I was.

It’s not an easy thing to accept. Especially because society isn’t accepting at all. Society, including our parents, work colleagues, friends, children, lovers and partners. Which is sad… We aren’t bad people, just misunderstood. Nonetheless, we try to do what we can. To build a community that thrives. To bring awareness to the rest of society, to educate them in what we really are – people who have jobs, are mothers and fathers, pay taxes and have bills just like they do.  To interact with our own kind and Otherkin, to inspire each other and support one another.

This is where I believe the SAVA and its members come in. I felt it was a great honour to be asked to join, and I enthusiastically accepted. I think it’s a significant start and that with a little hard work and the persistence of our members, we can do just about anything. We just need that persistence and enthusiasm from everyone.

If we haven’t spoken yet, come say hello – I would love to get to know you.

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

4 responses to “Being The Newbie: Lights, Camera, Action! With Lunah Eire

Leave a Reply

