The Book End: Book Reviews – by Nadine

This week’s reviews: Fifty Shades Darker, Fifty Shades Freed.

Fifty Shades Darker

This is the second novel that follows the all popular Fifty Shades of Grey. From my raw encounter I would agree that FSD is set at a different level.

While I think a lot of woman girded their loins for this second novel – and I’m sure many couldn’t resist discovering what this – a follow up novel could deliver since Ana left Christian after a serious beating in the first, this novel actually proved to have an intriguing storyline – irrespective of the sex.

I found that FSD wasn’t as erotic as FSOG instead it became sensual – loving even beautiful.

I found myself absorbed in discovering Christians past and relieved at finding reasons for his behaviour. While there was an understanding as to why people compared this storyline to twilight it wasn’t overbearing – obvious. I think the key to the comparison is mostly the pace of the story and the characteristics within Christian which is similar to that of Edward.

While the novel has a flowing line between relief, heartache, progress, humour and suspense I confess that it was good enough for me to want to read Fifty Shades Freed.

I still had issues with some of the writing – the holy cow, my fifty, crap, fuck repeats was still around but for most I enjoyed the writers out right blatant response. I found it to be very womanly – even though I wanted to kill the constant referral to her inner goddess.

I can see why woman find the story intriguing and I was happy to find that Ana grew a pair and took the lead.

Fifty Shades Freed

Look, if you have lasted this far along in the series and your loins haven’t spilled all over everything – you are an entrepreneur. In Fifty Shades Freed Ana is thrown into a world of challenges that neither her nor Christian would anticipate. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own identity. Christian in return must overcome his compulsion to control as he wrestles with the demons of his tormented past.

Just when it seems as if they have it all – love, passion, intimacy, wealth and a world of possibilities Ana’s deepest fears turn to reality with the comeback of Jack Hyde her former boss revealing a connection to Christians gruelling past.

The story still misses a competent, coherent editor as there are still various instances of repetition, which did cause a hold on me wanting to finish the entire trilogy a week ago, but having said that – the storyline remained intriguing enough for me to finish.

If EL James had to write a fourth instalment, I doubt I’d be willing to continue reading it – not due to the bad writing, or the fact that I had to strap myself in every now and then. My resignation is purely directed towards the fact that I feel Ana and Christian’s story has been told. My conclusion was received with much relief since I didn’t experience the same feeling at the end of Stephenie Meyer’s Breaking Dawn.

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

Leave a Reply

