The Book End: Book Reviews – by Nadine

This week’s reviews:

    

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins:

Being a total Twilight fan, I decided to read this novel which everyone kept on comparing with Twilight. (Just in order for me to be able to voice my own opinion.)

The novel written by Suzanne Collins is written in the voice of a fairly grown up sixteen year old Katniss Everdeen. Katniss (or Catnip like some of her friends call her) lives in a post-apocalyptic world in a country called Panem. Their district is held in hegemony by a highly advanced capitol that feels it entertaining to host annual “Hunger Games,” which is a televised battle to the death with only one victor claiming the throne and thereby ultimate survival.

The story which was masterfully layered with action, blood and colourful characters left me a bit frustrated towards the end as Catnip was shoved into what felt to me an ignorant love triangle.

My frustration was however not long lasting as I continued my journey onto Catching Fire the very same day.

Catching Fire – Suzanne Collins:

Catching Fire was the novel that pretty much broke my opinion of the first one.

Where I was left with total irritation towards the main character in the first novel I started loving the clever ways in which Suzanne did her writing.

Following the events of “TheHunger games,” a rebellion against the capitol has begun. As Katniss and Peeta are fellow tributes a special edition of the Hunger games is to be held in which they again have to participate. Without giving the plot away all I can say is that this novel really combines reality and fiction. The author definitely had a fabulous plot put down here and the ending is most catching – and abrupt.

Mokingjay  – Suzanne Collins:

This novel was marvellous.

Mokingjay is the final instalment of the Hunger games trilogy.

In this very daring final novel Katnis Everdeen agrees to be the face of the rebellion that ends up fighting their overly advanced capitol. The whole novel tackles issues such as war, loyalty, poverty and love. Readers are not exposed to the familiar games, instead they are thrown into actual dynamics surrounding war and politics.

Katnis ends up being jumbled up in her own internal and external battle something which I’m sure a lot of people could relate to.

In the end she ends up with exactly who I wanted her to – which makes me very, very happy.

Had I been given the choice in high school between Animal Farm (no offence to the author), and this book, the latter would have prevailed and I would have gotten the best grades ever.

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

2 responses to “The Book End: Book Reviews – by Nadine

Leave a Reply

