Talking About Vamps – Nerine Dorman

Nerine Dorman is a  local multi-skilled horror-fantasy writer, editor, photographer and musician who currently resides in Cape Town, South Africa. In this interview conducted by fellow South African author, Nadine Maritz, we discover Nerine’s views on writing, the horror and fantasy genre’s and her views on fictional vampires, as well as touching on the real Vampyre Community.

Nerine was born in the late 1970’s and has been an avid writer since she could remember. She is a published horror and fantasy writer that is also employed as a sub editor for a local newspaper. To add to her already hectic lifestyle she also runs a writers guild for Science fiction, fantasy and horror writers in her home town.

We thank Nerine for accepting our invitation for an interview.

Nadine: First of all, we would like to thank you for participating in this interview. Just to break the ice – who is your favourite (well known) vampire of all time?

Nerine: Xan Marcelles, hands down. He’s been active as an internet phenomenon for a while now. He’s a smart-mouthed, whiskey-loving and bass-playing hunk of tall, dark and looming. You can follow him on Twitter @crookedfang

Nadine: You are currently marketing your novel Blood and Fire that is a collaboration between yourself and Carrie Clevenger. What can readers expect from the novel?

Nerine: Blood and Fire is the second collaboration between Carrie and me, featuring her Xan Marcelles and my Ashton Kennedy – two very unlikely allies – who get dumped into the same misadventure. I can best describe the story as Indiana Jones meets the X-Files.

The novella’s fast-paced and full of surprises, and readers have enjoyed the interaction between the two characters.

Nadine: It is my understanding that funds received on Amazon will be contributed towards cancer research. How are current ratings going?

Nerine: Best to go read the details directly at the Dark Continents website but an added bonus is that publisher DM Youngquist mentioned he’d shave off his mustache if a certain target was reached, and apparently his kid hasn’t ever seen him without the dreaded facial hair. Ever.

To download or read reviews on this specific novel, one can go here  for more information.

Nadine: Which genre is the novel targeting?

Nerine: I actually despise the idea that a novel should fit into a specific genre, but it’s an unfortunate reality of book publishing (and it helps categorize for listings). I’d like to think that Blood and Fire will have broad appeal for folks who like urban fantasy and horror, but would recommend die-hard fans of paranormal romance give it a try. It’s fast, pulpy and fun.

Nadine: What made you decide to join the characters Xan Marcelles and Ashton Kennedy which is, if my understanding is correct – both characters from your and Carrie’s individual works?

Nerine: We were itching to write another collaboration, and at first toyed with the idea of having one of my other characters, Severin, from What Sweet Music They Make, appear, but then we decided it’d be more fun to throw Xan and Ash together – purely because of their different outlooks.

Nadine: Since this work was created by two different writers, with different writing styles and different backgrounds – did you find it difficult to bring the two characters together in one main story line? How have reviews been based on your diverse styles?

Nerine: Carrie and I write well together. We just click on a literary level, based on a mutual love and respect of each other’s writing. We’re both fans of each other’s work, so that’s the first step. Plus we spend hours tossing ideas back and forth before we actually settle on anything. Creating the story is half the fun before the actual writing process starts. That being said, we also complement each other. Carrie’s sharper with plotting as she’s an ace short story writer, whereas I come from a background of longer works that are heavier in descriptive narrative. She helps cut back my tendency to waffle, while I encourage her to bump up her layering.

Nadine: Ashton is your character within the novel Inkarna which is now also available on Amazon – tell us a bit about him as I understand he is a very unusual and unexpected type of character.

Nerine: As much as I love vampires, and adore them with every fibre of my being, I wanted to write a type of supernatural being that I could put my stamp on. Using the whole “vampires originated in Egypt” trope is a bit tired, in my opinion, but I love ancient Egyptian mythology and wanted to push it a bit further. Inkarna all started with a dream I had, of walking around in a male body that didn’t belong to me. Then two people who were very dear to me died, and it all fell into place after that. I asked myself the question, “What if there is a cult of immortal body snatchers who are embroiled in ages of conflict?”

Ashton’s secret is that he’s actually a little old lady who’s trapped in the body of a 21-year-old metal head. I just love the contrast in the way he looks vs. the way he thinks.

He’s way out of his depth and struggling to come to terms with the modern era without the resources he took for granted the last time he was alive.

Nadine – What can readers expect to find in the novel Inkarna?

Nerine: This is very much the Inkarna Nefretkheperi’s story, who is reincarnated as Ashton Kennedy, who was previously known as Elizabeth Rae Perry. And it’s a crash course in how the ancient Egyptians perceived the souls after death (plural intended). According to the ancients, humans possessed more than one soul, the parts of which all had different functions after death.

Nadine: Where can readers / fans, find your work?

Nerine: I’ve just rebooted my website which has an up-to-date listing of all my published works, or follow me on Twitter @nerinedorman for breaking news.

Nadine: In all your time of writing, have you ever based your characters and stories on real live events?

Nerine: Oh, often. Perhaps my most humorous one is the opening scene of my debut novel, Khepera Rising, where the main character, Jamie, has an altercation with a little old lady who wears lilac-framed glasses. That really happened to me and yes, I did give her the finger for saying “Jesus loves you”. I love slipping in little secrets in my fiction.

The people who know me well will recognise them. Some might even cringe. I can definitely say that having enjoyed my wilder days thoroughly, I have a wealth of life experiences to draw upon. Alas, the wilder days are over, so I live them out in my writing.

Nadine: Are you aware that there is a thriving community of people who self-identify as “vampires” in the world today? How do you feel about them?

Nerine: Ah, folks like Don Henrie and his ilk. I say, whatever blows your hair back, baby. On the other hand, there’re people who have turned the idea of vampirism into forms of magical practice. To be honest, I know it’s there, it makes an interesting premise for a novel and I dig hanging out with them, but so long as they don’t hurt people and animals, they’re welcome to do whatever they want, though whatever happens must be consensual and be between adults.

Nadine: In approaching characters within your books what was the basic definition of “vampire” in your mind?

Nerine: I never forget that my vampires are not human. My characters have embraced or at least accepted who and what they are. They have no qualms about taking blood when they need it. There’s no moralizing. Also, my vampires are merely players I’ve chosen for particular traits. They’re there to tell a story beyond the standard of “Oh dear, I’m a vampire, oh the pain of an eternity stretching ahead of me”.

Nadine: If you had to choose between Count Dracula, Lestat, Louis and Edward or Blade, who would you choose and why? ( Forgive me since I know no one in True Blood)

Nerine: Whiny as he is, I love Louis. I’ve always had a soft spot for him because he’s so goddamn sensible it hurts. Yes, he can whinge, but he calmly gets on with his existence without Lestat’s tendency toward being a drama queen. Blade and Edward are a wee bit one-dimensional.

Nadine: What are your plans for the near future? Anything new and exciting that you are currently working on?

Nerine: I’ve a fantasy novel featuring vampires that’s sitting on an editor’s desk. I can’t say much about that except that it’s a big departure from urban fantasy in a secondary world setting using a pseudo-Victorian styling. I’m busy finalising new cover art for the slightly revised print edition of Khepera Rising, and I’ve started work on a new fantasy novel featuring some sort of bizarre Lovecraftian being that hasn’t been named yet. Some sort of psychic vampire mage thingamabob at the end of the day. I think. Nothing final, as I’m still vomiting a first draft and everything is subject to change.

Nadine: Thanks a lot for your time. I feel honoured to once again be able to introduce your work toeveryone out there.

For those readers and writers that want to stay in contact with Nerine you can contact her viathe following links –

•Twitter @nerinedorman

•Website address:http://nerinedorman.weebly.com

Disclaimer: the views published here are not necessarily the views of the SAVN.

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

Leave a Reply

