Local Author Chats To Vampyres

Some of our readers will remember local author Nadine from her interview on Real Vampire News some weeks ago. Nadine writes fiction which centers on vampires, and I have to say her vampire novel looks very interesting indeed!

I think it’s nice to encounter other South Africans (Kin or not) interacting with the international Vampyre Community. I wondered if she was aware that there is also a growing young South African community of self-identified Vampyres, and so I contacted her, and she generously consented to do an interview with us .

Nadine, would you like to tell us a little about yourself as a person, about your writing, and how it was you became drawn to the subject of vampires and vampirism?

“As a person, I am fairly sure that I am not that interesting so I usually try and avoid elaborating too much on that specific matter. I am like most South African woman I presume – a hard working mom that finds escape in fiction. Whilst I have my days for rugby and mingling I also have my days where I like to be concealed from the world with my own thoughts and that’s usually when I turn to my writing.

As per the interview I had with RVN – I think I have always had a type of infatuation towards vampires as an impression. Maybe without realising it, it was created due to the fact that I liked Brad Pit and Tom Cruise in my teens. I guess once they became immortal I joined the band wagon.”

You have written a book that features vampires or draws on vampire myths – what is your book about?

“’My addiction – My Gift; My Curse’ is a story about vampires and shape shifters. It is written on two levels. The novel begins during the main character’s current existence and expands to include her review of the life she’s led since the day she was transformed. It is circular rather than linear and
certain events alluded to or described at the beginning of the book gain a deeper significance once the entire novel has been read.

Readers glean an insight into Snare’s character and current state of mind and, separate to that – in the main story – the reader is taken on a journey of reflection.

This is the first novel of a series. It therefore also serves as an introduction to the different characters and gives the reader an insight into their backgrounds, emotions and circumstances, paving the way for the action to come in the rest of the series.

It’s a modern, contemporary story, told in a way that people can relate to easily. The series is set predominantly in Africa yet it has universal appeal, and the plot takes one on richly rendered excursions to the Old World and other parts of the New.

It is also an interesting bilingual read; the first of its kind. This is a feature that adds to rather than detracts from the theme. “My addiction – My Gift; My Curse” was created to be a compelling yet light read that allows the reader
to escape into a completely new world. It’s the start of a circle that has to be completed.

For a more elaborate insight into the timeline you can go to – Convozine.com, where I give readers a better breakdown on the plot idea. Or you can go to my blog where I post regular updates /interviews etc.”

It’s my understanding that prior to a few weeks ago, you had nothing at all to do with real Vampyres or the Vampyre Community, and that you also do not identify as being vampyric yourself?

“That’s correct. But, having said that – I also need to add that I am a very open person (yes some might call it naïve). I believe that life can be interpreted differently by various people. I am always open and interested in the different types of perceptions.”

What interests you about the fictional type of vampire, the ‘undead’ sort?

“I guess the fact that these beings are mysterious and immortal. It’s something that’s not cast in stone. Something I can psychologically interpret whichever way I am comfortable with.”

Prior to our request for an interview, had you been aware that there was a Vampyre Community in South Africa as well?

“Never – I’m sure you noted the surprize in my email.”

Would you say that since you first became aware of real Vampyres living in this society, that it has changed your perception of the classical vampire mythos, or perhaps how you might view the fictional vampire characters in your writing?

“No, it hasn’t. I think my answer is partially due to the fact that we live in such a multi-cultural country. Throughout my existence I have gathered that nothing is impossible and that things in general are not always the way a specific individual perceives it to be.

I doubt it would influence my writing since the idea behind my writing is to create something new but it does give you grounds to develop something from.”

Is there anything about the real Vampyre which interests you, both as a person or as a writer?

“Vampires will always hold interest in writing and the real world. My guess is that it is mostly due to the fact that it’s something enigmatical.”

If someone close to you were to confide in you that they are vampyric, or identify as a Vampyre, how do you think you would react?

“I’d be happy for them. Whatever makes them content is good for me. As long as they don’t want a bite of me and they won’t want me to convert to anything weird – I’d most probably invite them for coffee ( O no …I forgot – I
don’t make coffee …) – Joke for everyone that really knows me.”

If you had to choose a favorite between two movie vamps, say Edward from Twilight, and Damon Salvatore from Vampire Diaries, which one would it be, and why?

“Okay – I have never ever watched Vampire Diaries (and I can hear the sighs from around the globe.) This is mostly due to the fact that I didn’t want their ideas to influence my writing so regrettably I can’t give you any input on Damon.

Edward and I have walked a path we now have an understanding – as long as he doesn’t sparkle we get along.”

At the beginning of the interview, I gave you some short definitions of what a real Vampyre is, and definitions of sanguine, psychic and omnivorous (hybrid) Vampyres. There was also a definition of what we call sexual feeders. How has reading these definitions changed your understanding of real people who for their own personal reasons, identify with one or more of these types?

“This is a very interesting question actually. I had a discussion with the guys from RVN just before I got your email where I actually submitted a questionnaire that will appear on my blog. One of the questions I asked them was what types of vampires you get and what defines them.

Then I posted another question to them where I asked whether the title vampire isn’t used in the same way that Goth is.

I think it is defined by the way different people would interpret it. For some it is a way of life, for some a religion for some an escape. Majority of society would most likely be happy to keep the idea aside in books and movies.

For me though – in short whatever makes your bum hum.”

Many Vampyres in the local community see themselves as ordinary people with slightly out of the ordinary needs, and feel they are feared, misunderstood and quite often portrayed (by critics of our subculture) as bad, or even dangerous people. Consequently, they dread coming out or being exposed as being vampyric, or becoming known as Vampyres. What would you say to them?

“I’d say hell – Beethoven was deaf; Einstein; Picasso and Michaelangelo were all considered outcasts. People struggle with ADD / ADHD – Aids and cancer every day. There are people without food and without time to live – find your happy space and live it. (Provided your happy space is not filled with murder; rape and those horrible things)

Oh, and then for the kids – use condoms; don’t do drugs – always keep it real. Who am I to judge?”

Now that you know about the real Vampyre Community in South Africa, and have gained some insight into it, how do you feel about this community?

“That everyone deserves a space in this time. In South Africa it should be something anyone could get used to.”

Is there anything you would like to say to our readers?

“I quote (I think some or other beer advertisement ), “Always keep it real,” and while you do, vouch for me and my novels which will hopefully one day make it big and onto screen.”

Is there anything we can close with, such as news about your book, where and when is it available, who is the publisher etc?

“I think in the end we can just say that they need to keep a look out on the blog for updates on where we are and where we are going. I don’t have a publisher as of yet I am currently in 2nd rounds edits on the 1st novel. Being interactive with readers etc is an important part of writing so I’m always willing to give my input.”

Thank you so much for doing this interview, and for sharing with us, Nadine!

“Thanks so much for allowing me to participate. “

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

Leave a Reply

