Tolerance – An ‘Endangered Species’? – by Psion Valur

I’ve always been a very broad-minded person, I know there are a LOT of people out there who are VERY different to me in some ways and NO different to me in others and that’s just fine with me. There are straight, gay, lesbian, Christian, Buddhist, Pagan, Vampyre and many, many others as well you know, but just because those people are different to me in those ways (or maybe not as the case may be), they are still EXACTLY the same as me because they are all human.

I don’t necessarily agree with all their practices, but respect their choice to be who they are and if I like them (as a person), then I will be friends with them even if their lifestyle/religion or whatever is different to mine. If they have a problem with me or my lifestyle/religion or whatever, then it’s a case of ‘So long, farewell, Auf Wiedersehen, goodbye….’ and don’t let the door hit you on your way out.

If you don’t like me, you don’t like me – and you have that right, then just leave and leave me in peace to live my life as I see fit. I’m accepting of everybody, unless they do something morally reprehensible – like mass murderers, serial killers, paedophiles, rapists etc and even then, it’s not them, personally that I’m not accepting of, it’s their actions. Every day on facebook or in the news, I see references to intolerance, some much more horrific than others, and it really does sicken me.

Most of my life I have been an ‘acceptable’ type of person, I was basically just ‘normal’ and not in any way threatening to anybody. Then I became interested in paganism and then witchcraft and suddenly I wasn’t so acceptable to some people. For a long time I was in the broom closet, following my ‘religion’ behind closed doors so that I would not be judged by any narrow minded individuals.

Gradually, I let things ‘slip’ to people close to me and the more they got used to those little things, and saw that any changes in me were for the better, the easier it became to eventually come out the broom closet. That made things much easier, but I was in that closet for a looooong time. Through this path, I learned many things and journeyed in many directions, picking up things here and there to add to my eclectic path. There were those that were accepting of this path of mine and those that weren’t.

During this part of my life, there was sometimes whispering behind my back by people in the area about me being a ‘Satanist’ because I was wearing a pentacle. I did however survive all that and came out the other side a stronger person and felt comfortable in the pagan community which was MUCH more accepting of any and all other religions, paths, and lifestyles.

More recently through my own inner journeying, (as you will know from my previous post), I realized that I was a psi vampyre all along. I realized that I had been psi all my life and in looking back, saw all the signs, so basically when I ‘came out the coffin’, I was exactly the same person as I had been before my ‘revelation’. I hadn’t changed at all, except to accept an aspect of myself that I had previously denied. I only ‘came out’ to those I trust with my life and to the people in the VC who I trust.

But even though my articles are written under an alias, some people were doing the ‘sums’ and realized who I was. This led to me losing some friends and some friction and also to the realization, that this ‘new’ aspect of my life is apparently even more unacceptable to some than any previous part of my life.

While it wasn’t nice to experience that, I bear no malice to these friends who ‘left’ (or were deleted by me because of it), they have every right to feel the way they do, I’m sorry that it happened, because it just emphasizes that humanity in general has a long way to go before we can all just live in peace and acceptance.

I am who I am, and that’s all there is to it. So to those who are accepting of me, I am very grateful to have you in my life – and to those who aren’t……..

Bite me.

 

 

 

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

Leave a Reply

