News24 Article On Local VC Draws Hostility

A second article in the local South African press has focused on the growing South African Vampyre community, and specifically on the SAVN site which serves it.

An article posted on the News24 website yesterday, called “SA vampires share bloodthirsty tips“, written by Johannes de Villiers, reveals how SA Vampyres are working to build their community. Particular mention is made of the articles on SAVN covering blood consumption and other tips provided by contributors. The article has drawn numerous hostile comments in only a few hours.

In June, “Die Son” published the first article about the SA Vampyre Community, which received surprisingly, far less attention and almost no hostility. This trend is leading local members of the Community to speculate about the atmosphere of intolerance in South Africa, and the wisdom of individuals coming out as vampiric.

The comments made on the News24 article thus far have been critical to say the least. The level of hostility can be used as a useful tool to gauge tolerance levels within the broader community. It is precisely for this reason that Vampyres have remained in the shadows for so long.

Articles in the local media raise awareness of our community and also draw out new members who were unaware of the existence of the community before. On the other hand, so far SAVN have also received numerous critical comments on our articles by people who are critical of vampirism or diversity. Of course, SAVN are not posting these comments, which are often offensive and pedestrian by nature – but it is a pretty good indicator of current public perception.

Check the comments.

About Octarine Valur

Octarine Valur - Founder: House Valur, South African Vampyre Community, South African Vampi(y)re Alliance (SAVA), SA Vampyre news (SAVN). View all posts by Octarine Valur

27 responses to “News24 Article On Local VC Draws Hostility

  • PeterJohnJnb

    Should you not rather post those hostile comments? Your willingness to contribute to an article on News24 which receives huge readership shows that there is an element within your ranks that would like the public to know who you are in an attempt at gaining some form of tolerance if not acceptance. That means my dear, that you have to take the good with the bad – if you are going to be brave enough to expose yourself and your behaviour to the public then be brave enough to respond to their concerns, issues and yes – insults. Every other alternative group in the country have had to go through the same thing to eventually get some form of recognition, don’t think yourselves different. If you believe so strongly in your cause, then meet people where they are at. Publish those comments and open the debate.

  • mickey

    glad to have found your site

  • Vigilant Citizen

    It’s pointless to argue, you guys think this phase in your life is real, the rest of the world don’t. you won’t be able to convince a Real person. the only way your donor will believe you/or give blood is with the promise of sex after feeding…yes I know how you people work. other thing I am not attacking anybody on the site I am just expressing my views since this is a public forum.

    I am a christian (not the church going type or bible under my arm type, just want to let you know) the Vampire thing starts like this: a child that don’t blend with others/abuse at home/ or just weird looking, then he/she mostly she will find a group like yours, think ok this is nice, start with the blood drinking/feeding thing, and believe it gives them energy can’t live without it, then move over to one of you House parties, still don’t think he/she belong, a house member will point him/her to a spiritual centre, and finally move over to Satan worship with the hope it will all be ok.

    – Vigilant Citizen
    (not THE VC but more of a VC)

    • Octarine Valur

      You’re absolutely right – it is pointless to argue. You don’t understand what you’re attacking, and you don’t know what you’re talking about. I don’t mean that in a nasty way – what I’m saying is that you are ignorant of our experiences and our lives. The best remedy for this ignorance is to educate yourself, or at least to be open to information when it is presented to you.

      It may surprise you, but many Vampyres are also Christians, just as there are vamps who are part of any other faith group.

      Your statement that vampirism is a consequence of abuse or poor social skills is certainly not based in fact. Most vamps I know are extremely outgoing and even popular. Many thrive in the spotlight. Self-identifying as a Vampyre is not a “phase” as you put it.

      And lastly, the statement insinuating that being vampiric is somehow a step towards “satanism” is pure speculation at best, and no more than pure assumption. It is something we experience as a real need, no more, no less.

      • PeterJohnJnb

        Octarine, with all respect, Vampyres cannot be Christian also – their religion forbids the consumption of blood?

      • Octarine Valur

        Really? Is that before or after Christians are covered by “the blood of the lamb”, or “drink the blood” or “eat the flesh” of Christ? Does symbolism make these references any less significant? According to Christians, there is nothing which can erase a person’s name from the Lamb’s book of life once it has been entered there. And also, the only unpardonable sin, according to Christian scholars, is cursing the holy spirit. Did I miss anything?

        Besides, more to the point – being a Christian is what you believe, being vampiric is what we are. Can you see the difference?

    • blackswanrose

      My friend, I am a donor – a straight, female donor to a straight, female vamp. Nothing sexual has ever or will ever occur in our beautiful relationship. She doesn’t pay me for my blood, not in money, nor drugs, nor sex. It’s a mutual, willing agreement, and it has created an unbelievably strong and stable friendship between us.

  • a.crowley

    Glad to see more comments on this site, the news24 article helped us actualy.

    • PeterJohnJnb

      I see the difference indeed but again, with respect, I think you oversimplify. In any event I’m not a Christian so I don’t really care but I was just commenting based on what I remember from my Catholic teaching days. Is the symbolism less significant, no probably not – though it remains symbolism indeed.

      ‘For the life of a creature is in the blood, and I have given it to you to make atonement for yourselves on the altar; it is the blood that makes atonement for one’s life. Leviticus 17:11 (New International Version)’

      β€œIt is my judgment, therefore, that we should not make it difficult for the Gentiles who are turning to God. Instead we should write to them, telling them to abstain from food polluted by idols, from sexual immorality, from the meat of strangled animals and from blood. For Moses has been preached in every city from the earliest times and is read in the synagogues on every Sabbath.” (Acts 15: 19-21)

      ‘When Christ came as high priest of the good things that are already here, he went through the greater and more perfect tabernacle that is not man-made, that is to say, not a part of this creation. He did not enter by means of the blood of goats and calves; but he entered the Most Holy Place once for all by his own blood, having obtained eternal redemption. The blood of goats and bulls and the ashes of a heifer sprinkled on those who are ceremonially unclean sanctify them so that they are outwardly clean. How much more, then, will the blood of Christ, who through the eternal Spirit offered himself unblemished to God, cleanse our consciences from acts that lead to death, so that we may serve the living God! Hebrews 9:11-14 (New International Version)

      For my point of reference I used:

      http://www.revelation.co/2009/02/22/what-does-the-bible-say-about-blood/

      I think that kind of excludes a Christian from these practices then.

      I only raise these points Octarine because whilst I don’t agree with your lifestyle, I will defend to the death you right to live your life as you see fit, provided of course that others right to the same is not infringed on and there are a few things I find wary – will you permit me to raise these points with you here or would you prefer less public communication?

      • Octarine Valur

        Peter, I’m not a Christian either πŸ˜‰ For me the whole thing is a moot point. I am what I am, and I know it is real because of my own experiences.

        On the point of whether or not a Vampyre can also be a Christian, are you saying that I could not be a Christian even if I believed in the whole doctrine, just because of what I am? Should I stop feeding, I would still be vampiric, and I would suffer for it both mentally and physically, and possible even suffer serious consequences in terms of health – are you suggesting that if I wanted to be a Christian, I should be prepared to die for that ‘privilege’, should it come to that?

        I am Wiccan – and there is only one law in Wicca – “if it harm none, do what thou wilt”. Of course, some may interpret having a donor cut themselves in order to feed me, as doing “harm” to them. But in terms of what we need (a small amount) versus the harm that would come to us should we hunger, I think it is a good compromise. Besides, it is wholly consensual, and we do not need to go against anyone’s free will in order to obtain what we need. In any case, many of us resort to butcher blood to get by without donors – in which case, absolutely no harm done by the vamp in question.

        On a personal note, I think it is hypocritical of a whole society condemning a minority for satisfying its basic needs without causing harm to anyone – while those doing the criticizing will happily consume herds of cattle and other animals in their own lifetime and see nothing wrong in it.

        You are welcome to make your posts here.

  • PeterJohnJnb

    My Lady, I see your logic I do and if I’m ignorant in your ways that forgive me but and yes, there’s always a ‘but’. I used to have self-harm issues a few years ago – and at the time I was using all manner of reasoning to justify my behaviour. What it came down to at the end of the day however, was that I had some pretty deep set psychological issues and once I had been through the process I then could see it for what it was. However – had I come into contact with some one who wanted my blood, I may well have seen that as a legitimate symbiotic relationship – it’s not though is it?

    I don’t wish to offend Octarine, really I don’t. But I’m sure you’ll grant that as you as a people are now feeling the need to assert your position and claim your place in society, whatever that maybe, I too would not be living to my consciences’ truth if I did not say what concerns me. If a person willingly wishes to cut themselves to give blood, well, c’est la vie.

    To most people this would seem an act of deviancy and who knows, perhaps they are right. But it goes against all conventional wisdom to consume blood – whilst there are no immediate risks, the potential for serious health issues are huge! I don’t know of a single medical practitioner who would endorse such behaviour.

    Also, I don’t hink you are being very fair or just in saying it’s wrong for the majority to condemn a small minority for what the minority see’s as a need – there is no medical evidence to suggest that this is even partly true. Now, don’t get me wrong – again, if you wish to indulge in this behaviour it’s your prerogative. But I think that there is the potential for allot of harm to come from this. There are allot of young and lost kids out there who are trying to find there own way and I’m concerned that within that pubescent melee of self-doubt and angst, there is a potential for people to get drawn into this type of lifestyle.

    And then, there is something about the human experience, that intrinsically tells us to treat blood as something sacred and that this type of use of it goes against what we as human’s know to be part of our journey here – or perhaps that’s just me.

    Perhaps I’ve got it all wrong and need to be educated but I don’t think so – can you see why some would find this to be unusual?

    Peter

    • Octarine Valur

      @ Peter – A few centuries ago, people who were left-handed were persecuted on religious grounds by ignorant societies. Up until a few years ago there was no evidence that being gay was natural, but now there is. Just because there is no significant medical knowledge on what makes us do what we do, or experience what we experience today, does not mean there won’t be tomorrow.

      Thank you for your insight, Peter. As a community, we do not encourage self-harm. However, it must be said, that self-harmers will continue to self-harm with or without our influence. And in all honesty, when a self-harmer is willing to help us, the temptation may be too great for some. You are also under the impression that this is something we choose to do, like playing tennis or being a football fan. It’s not like that for us. There are so many similarities between people who have had no contact with others of our kind for many years, and when we start relating our experiences, we find many common denominators. We are not drinking blood or sucking energy just because we get a thrill out of watching Twilight – in fact, most of us seem to hate Twilight. Most serious Houses will not even admit anyone under 18 or even 21.

      We understand perfectly why some will find us unusual. We are prepared for a lot of hostility, skepticism and criticism. Educating society starts with making the world aware that we exist, along with providing honest and candid answers about what we are and how we live. We know it’s not an easy or simple process.

      Thank you again, and especially for your courtesy.

      Octarine

      • PeterJohnJnb

        Hello Octarine,

        Well my Lady, I do have some sympathy for you – getting recognition in this country is going to take some balls – but by the sounds of things you are not short on those πŸ˜‰ Still does not sit 100% with me but that may just be me being prudish and since we are sharing, the self-harming person in a donor type of relationship really does bother me, I won’t lie about that.

        Also, as a Wiccan – I’m sorry I have to ask – don’t you feel that this is somewhat incongruent with the spirit of your faith?

        You have my e-mail address, I would like to talk with you some more, if it pleases you drop me a line sometime then.

        Whilst I’m not likely to find your lifestyle agreeable anytime soon, I don’t think that you are deserving of the profanity or insults, we are all just trying to find our piece under the sun at the end of the day no?

        Peter

      • Octarine Valur

        Thank you Peter. No, I have no issues between my vampiric nature and my beliefs. Absolutely, we’re just looking for our place in the world, alongside everybody else. Sure, I will do so. Octarine.

  • Hangman

    Has everyone lost their minds? Vampires do NOT exist. Even as a joke this magazine/website is lame.

  • malek

    Sorry but I had to ask. You said if you don’t get blood you could suffer serious consequences in terms of health. Do you mind elaborating on that

    • Octarine Valur

      Most vamps will tell you they experience symptoms such as fatigue, lack of energy, depression, headaches, joint pains, aches if they delay feeding. This is aside from the Hunger or the Thirst, as some call it. The longer the delay, the worse it gets. A few have told of how they experienced health problems such as heart disease, which completely vanished once they fed again. Of course, not all vamps feed off blood, others known as psychic vampires will feed direct from the source, on life energy. Blood is seen as one conduit of this life energy.

  • winchester

    Why do the donors have to cut them self? Why not us a seringe needle, stick it in a vein, drain the amount of blood you need and remove the needle. Clean and simple. You can even use a vein in your leg if you dont want to look like a herion junky. Jis hierdie engels klink nie reg nie.

    • Octarine Valur

      It’s better for legal reasons. In some places, the act could be taken as assault, and could place the vamp in a precarious position should things turn sour between vamp and donor later. Also, not everyone is comfortable operating a syringe, nor has the training to do so safely. Many donors are also squeamish and shy of needles. It all depends on the individuals really.

  • malek

    Ok now im confused, how does one feed on life energy exactly?

  • Fabfairy

    I can truly believe that drinking of blood can be invigorating. Perhaps Vamps has some kind of strange deficiency syndrome etc. How much do you drink and how regularly?

    • Octarine Valur

      Actual amounts vary depending on certain factors, such as the source of the blood, method of acquisition, willingness of the donor, and how much the vamp feels they need at that time. Most typically it is small amounts, ranging from droplets to a glass. It also depends on frequency of donation.

  • Jackyl

    Hey – just a thought – blood from a butcher is essentially the life force of a slaughtered sentient creature – how is that justified among those of you who wish to do no harm? Does the vegetarian only drink human blood and not animal? Just trying to understand that aspect. Thanks.

    • Octarine Valur

      Jacky, I will answer your questions in point form:

      1) Animals are not regarded sentient, humans are.
      2) Butchers/abattoirs kill the animals anyway, and the blood is a by-product of their actions, not ours.
      3) According to the articles about the vamp who is a vegetarian, she only consumes blood from her donor.

Leave a Reply

